Oklahoma Self Defense Act Safety Course
—Conceal Carry Class—
Our Conceal Carry Class is NOT a Beginners' Class. H&H recommends taking a Private Lesson for those unfamiliar with firearms.
<<<PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING ADVISEMENTS>>>
START TIMES FOR CLASSES ARE 8:30 AM SATURDAY, 5:30 PM MONDAY AND 5:00 PM WEDNESDAY CLASSES
Have your firearm UNLOADED and in a BOX, BAG, or HOLSTER when you arrive for your course.
If you plan to bring your own ammunition, you will only need 50 FACTORY-made rounds.
Make sure your magazines are UNLOADED as well.
On Rescheduling a Course
If you need to reschedule to take the course on a different date, please email us at Reschedule@HHShootingSports.com. Be sure to include all your contact information, currently set course date and desired course date. Upon receiving your request, our Lesson Coordinator will contact you in a timely manner. For the best chance at getting your desired rescheduled date, please, DO NOT CALL to reschedule.
The OSDA 8-Hour Course:
State Law of Oklahoma recognizes the rights of its citizens to defend themselves from apparent threats to their lives. The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation began issuing Oklahoma Self-Defense Act (OSDA) licenses in January of 1996 (Title 21 O.S. 1290.3). The law states that only persons properly licensed may lawfully carry an authorized concealed handgun. To be eligible to apply for this license, the person must be a U.S. citizen; be a current legal resident of Oklahoma; be at least 21 years of age (As of July 2003); and complete an approved OSDA safety-training course or provide proof of exemption.
H&H is proud to have hosted the first OSDA course taught in Oklahoma. We have taught thousands of Oklahomans and feel that we provide the very best possible instruction. We have certified instructors and attorneys who teach the class because we feel it is very important for your legal questions to be answered in regards to this law. The course is divided into four parts: the law and use of deadly force (attorney-instructed), safety issues and test, firearms familiarization, and shooting at the range. Students must fire 50 rounds of factory-boxed ammunition and must exhibit safety and proficiency with their handgun. This is not a beginners' handgun course. We encourage students to take a private lesson and get familiar with their handgun. We also have guns to rent for the class; however, students need to be familiar with the gun before shooting on the range.
The course is $60 (price set by Oklahoma State Legislature) and textbook, range time, hearing and eye protection are included in the fee. Any firearms rented or ammunition purchased will incur an additional fee.
Class dates are subject to change. Please call to confirm dates. Prepayment and registration are required.
To obtain a packet from the OSBI, call 1-800-207-6724 or visit OSBI's website.
|Monday||January 6th||6 pm to 10 pm||Part 1 of 2||Full|
|Wednesday||January 4th||5:30 pm to 9:30 pm||Part 2 of 2||Full|
|Saturday||Janurary 11th||9 am to 5 pm||Ladies Only||Full|
|Monday||Janurary 20th||6 pm to 10 pm||Part 1 of 2||Full|
|Wednesday||January 22nd||5:30 pm to 9:30 pm||Part 2 of 2||Full|
|Saturday||January 25th||9 am to 5 pm||Full|
|Saturday||February 8th||9 am to 5 pm||Full|
|Monday||February 10th||6pm to 10pm||Part 1 of 2||Full|
|Wednesday||February 12th||5:30pm to 9:30pm||Part 2 of 2||Full|
|Saturday||February 22nd||9am to 5pm||Full|
|Monday||Feburary 24th||6pm to 10pm||Part 1 of 2||Full|
|Wednesday||February 26th||5:30pm to 9:30pm||Part 2 of 2||Full||March 2014|
|Saturday||March 8th||9 am to 5 pm||Full|
|Monday||March 10th||6pm to 10pm||Part 1 of 2||Full|
|Wednesday||March 12th||5:30pm to 9:30pm||Part 2 of 2||Full|
|Saturday||March 22nd||9am to 5pm||Full|
|Monday||March 24th||6pm to 10pm||Part 1 of 2||Full|
|Wednesday||March 26th||5:30pm to 9:30pm||Part 2 of 2||Full||April 2014|
|Saturday||April 12th||9 am to 5 pm||Ladies Only!||Full|
|Monday||April 14th||6 pm to 10 pm||Part 1 of 2||Open|
|Wednesday||April 16th||5:30 pm to 9:30 pm||Part 2 of 2||Open|
|Saturday||April 26th||9 am to 5 pm||Part 1 of 2||Open|
|Monday||April 28th||6 pm to 10 pm||Part 1 of 2||Open|
|Wednesday||April 30th||5:30 pm to 9:30 pm||Part 2 of 2||Open|
(Two-part classes are marked in italics.)
Save time by printing off our convenient Online SDA Class Enrollment Form!
Mail completed forms (along with checks made out to H&H Shooting Sports Complex) to:
H&H Shooting Sports Complex
400 S Vermont Avenue, Suite 110
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73108-1034
Trouble viewing the form? You might need to install Adobe Acrobat Reader.
OSBI has verified with us the that following 37 states (including Oklahoma) honor Oklahoma's conceal carry permit. To ensure a safe and legal visit to any state below, please contact that state's Attorney General to confirm your rights prior to your visit.
For contact information and more for each state, visit Handgunlaw.us
(click a state to view more detailed information on that state's gun policies)